Cheese Board Pizza Collective

4.1/5.0
10 reviews

1512 Shattuck Ave.

Berkeley, CA

549-3055

Category: Pizza

Tell others

Recent Reviews for Cheese Board Pizza Collective
December 21, 2006
Lucinda H.
Fremont , California
272 reviews
I expected a lot from other people's opinions of this place and found it to be a bit of a let down. I just didn't think the pizza was that special. I thought the thin style pizzas at Zachary's are much better.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
May 25, 2005
Nancy S.
San Francisco , California
247 reviews , 1 photo
Oh my goodness! I happened to be in Berkeley today and drove by what was a very long line outside a tiny little pizza place. I had no idea what it was, but figured since there was such a long line it must be good. By the time I found a parking place (parking is not easy) the line had gone down even though it was still around 12:45, lunch time. Apparently this is a co-op, and they only serve one kind of pizza a day. Today it was spinach, pine nuts, two cheeses, mushrooms, onions and a pinch of parsley. I have had pizza often, and this was the first pizza that has reminded me of the pizza I had in Italy..very thin, crisp crust, fresh as can be toppings and a wonderful flavor. I would drive back across the Bay Bridge just to get this pizza...excellent! I ordered 2 pieces, and they give you about a quarter of a piece with that, and had a Snapple and it came to under $6.00. If you had one piece of pizza it's just $1.99.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
January 11, 2005
JMC G.
Washington , District of Columbia
552 reviews
Really good stuff, worth the wait and the hassle of standing in line. Very unique and tasty.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
October 6, 2004
D D.
fullerton , California
149 reviews
Hum, I thought it was good - but I was expecting a lot better. I'll go back (it was a trip to be sure!).
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
March 14, 2004
G S.
Boulder , Colorado
54 reviews
Great pizza, big slices, and mouthwatering toppings. This place is sure to please anyone.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
February 19, 2004
Susan W.
San Francisco , California
80 reviews
Excellent pizza!! Delicious slices and whole pies. The ingredients are very fresh and the toppings/crust are always interesting.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
November 20, 2002
Elizabeth K.
7 reviews
Cheese Board Pizza is my favorite for thin crust versions. Their combinations of fresh herbs and cheeses is phenomenal and I have loved everything I'd tried except for the ones with lemon zest. There is always a line but it moves along as most customers know how to order and have their money out to pay. at $2 a slice it's a budget-smart meal as well. You can also pick up half or whole pies at the Cheese Board which is a few doors up the street. Be sure and try their wonderful shortbread or delicious corn and cherry scones. Cheese and bread prices can't be beat. And there is a great olive selection as well.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
January 14, 2002
Anonymous
56939 reviews
I'm not a pizza fan but this is the best pizza I've ever had. Even at the busiest times it only takes a few minutes to get a whole pizza since they only bake one type of pie each day. All of the ingredients are high-quality. For just $2 you can get a delicious single slice. This place is deservedly extremely popular. It's also nice because it's right next to a fabulous, rather gourmet shop with great cheeses and baked goods.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
July 30, 2001
David G.
12 reviews
With the option of having a fresh hot slice then and there, with the consistantly entertaining people watching accompanied my a wonderful lady playing jazz piano, the Cheeseboard is indeed a treasure.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
June 23, 2001
Anonymous
56939 reviews
The Pizza Collective is associated with the Cheese Board store two doors down, and it shows. They use a wide variety of top-quality cheese -- almost never your run-of-the-mill mozzarella! -- in creating a new, unique vegetarian pizza each day. That's right, there's only one variety of pizza available at a time, and it changes every day, but that's fine. They're all stunning, and unusual. For example, they might be serving a rosemary-potato-gruyere pizza one day, and a tomatoless three-onion-and-gorgonzola pizza the next. The crust is obviously fresh, and doesn't have the fluffy, mushy character of over-conditioned commercial doughs. Just delicious! They're only open for a few hours at lunch and dinner time, and there's always a line stretching out the door, but they're well worth the wait.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0