Nick's Seafood Pavilion

3.3/5.0
7 reviews

PO Box 130

Yorktown, VA

887-5269

Category: Seafood

Tell others

Recent Reviews for Nick's Seafood Pavilion
April 11, 2006
Henry J.
Washington Twp , Ohio
1 review
Great she crab soup
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
September 24, 2005
Cole C.
yorktown , Virginia
1 review
This is NOT a review, just an update. The original Nick's Seafood Pavillion closed after hurricane Isabel in September of 2004. York County has redeveloped the whole block into a wonderful groups of shops and two food establishments in a park-like setting. There is one restaurant called Nick's Riverwalk Landing, it is a wonderful place to dine, but does not serve any of the old Nick's menu items. Another Yorktown stalwart however, The Duke of York Hotel is now serving most of the old Nick's menu and thier River Room Restaurant. The long -time manager/chef mentioned in some of the reviews is Jimmy Krikales and he is now the dinner chef at the Duke of York. This new option, along with the aforementioned Riverwalk Landing, the Yorktown Pub, The Carrot Tree, Waterstreet Landing and of course Ben and Jerry's fabulous ice cream make Yorktown a complete dining destination. After dinner (or lunch or even breakfast at the hotel) take a relaxing stroll along t ... more
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
January 16, 2004
Aaron M.
Portsmouth , Virginia
69 reviews
Very good food and service. Laid back atmosphere for comfortable eating. I give it an A plus
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
April 24, 2001
Gene W.
10 reviews
I have been to Nick's Seafood Pavilion many times over the years beginning in the early 60's. The last time I went there before last Friday, April 20, to celebrate my lady friend's birthday was probably in 1988 or 1989. On that occasion nearly twelve years ago I ordered the Seafood Shish cabob. It was excellent. When I took my lady friend last Friday, I ordered the same item on the menu. She ordered the fried Shrimp. We both enjoyed the classic Nick's salad with their vinegar and oil dressing. The salad was simple, but, delicious. Then came the entree. Mine was delicious. It was just like I remembered years earlier. She commented that hers was good, too. She ordered pie for dessert and I ordered Baked Alaska. Again, mine was great! Although Nick and his wife have both passed away, another gentleman whose name escapes me has been with Nick's for 57 years is still there. The Nick's Seafood Pavilion tradition lives on!!! more
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
February 20, 2001
Gene F.
New Bern , North Carolina
38 reviews
I agree the atmosphere is fine, and perhaps the food is excellent, although the she-crab soup was rather bland, and reminded me of Campbells mushroom plus lumps. We had remembered this place from several visits in the past, and thought it nice for a late luncheon. Service was terrible, with one waitress failing to assist another, our coffee, served in individual carafes, sat getting colder when our waitress made three trips to get water and drinks for later tables than ours. It was 15 minutes from the time we arrived, and both of us were able to order, wait for water, and make potty stops before coffee..then the empty carafes were ignored by two other waitresses... enuff said... after a half hour, we had to continue our southward trip, with only my soup and a few crackers for the wife. Maybe when the summer staff is there they are a cohesive team and stay alert to other diners' needs... this group doesn't.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
August 18, 2000
Anonymous
56944 reviews
I grew up going to Yorktown every summer from my home in Baltimore. Visiting the restaurant over the course of 21 years I can say there is no place better on the East Coast of the United States for the most consistent and best tasting seafood. Despite the death of the founding proprietor Mary Mathews about two years ago, the restaurant run by the same man who managed it as far back as 15 years ago, does the same fabulous job of preparing the finest entrees and serving excellent size portions. Having been in operation over 45 years the place is a Yorktown landmark. The atmosphere takes you back to what fine dining use to be in the 1960's. Large original paintings, beautiful crystal chandeliers, and ancient statues decorate the three room establishment offering an aura of a distant past. The place is full of history. Must tries include: The Broiled Lobster tail, the creamy Crab meat Au Gratin, Seafood Shiskabob, Shrimp Givetsi, & the Lobster Dien Bien ... all ho ... more
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
May 16, 2000
Nat W.
Hampton , Virginia
12 reviews
Located on the waterfront in historic Yorktown. Look under the bridge. One of the best places on the peninsula to take that special lady on that special night.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 1