California Cafe

4.1/5.0
14 reviews

700 Welch Rd

Palo Alto, CA

325-2233

Category: Californian

Tell others

Recent Reviews for California Cafe
July 27, 2009
Mike S.
oak park , Illinois
432 reviews
I go there becuase it is simply the best butcher/deli in the South Bay area. The quality of the meats they sell is absolutely outstanding. I have bought and grilled all of the following and have always been impressed:
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
July 20, 2009
Mike S.
oak park , Illinois
432 reviews
The food was excellent, but our waiter seemed to be slow. For a really memorable meal get the cheese plate for dessert, whew that's some stinky cheese. :) The Tiramisu was excellent.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
February 15, 2009
Isuara D.
Bay Area , California
54 reviews
Nice for drinks and apps. We prefer Los Gatos California Cafe for menu and views at the back of the dining room.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
March 28, 2007
Dave S.
Palo Alto , California
7 reviews , 9 photos
A good place, but for the area of Palo Alto it is in this was par for the course. The food was excellent, but our waiter seemed to be slow. For a really memorable meal get the cheese plate for dessert, whew that's some stinky cheese. :) The Tiramisu was excellent.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
September 11, 2005
Jenny F.
Ottawa , Ontario
258 reviews
The cuisine is California/Mediterranean and the quality is excellent. I had a full dinner here: chicken gumbo soup, veal winter stew and a dessert of crème brulee with some chocolate truffles. Excellent!
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
June 12, 2005
Tim O.
Sunnyvale , California
25 reviews
The California Cafe is among the best places we've eaten in the South San Francisco Bay area -- on par our other top favorites such as E&O Trading Company, Straits Cafe, and Sent Sovi. It's dishes are tasty, fresh, and intriguing. <br> We started our dinner on a Saturday evening with an organic salad and a grilled asparagus salad. Both were beautifully presented and delicious. Our entrees were pacific halibut on a bed of wilted greens with Chardonnay sauce and clams and seared sushi grade ahi tuna on a bed of noodles. Both of these were scrumptious as well as attractive. We finished off the evening with a strawberry parfait and tea. The strawberry parfait was excellent but not quite as outstanding as the salads and entrees. <br> This is a good place to go if you are on a diet as their small plate selection is extensive, unusual, and quiet sufficient for a nicely rounded light dinner. Their menu is very creative with categories such as s ... more
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
August 27, 2003
Erin G.
Palo Alto , California
7 reviews
I've only been there once, but It was very memorable. Nice quiet atmosphere great for family breakfast. The Sunday brunch was delicious. The coffee cake is to die for!
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 1
July 14, 2000
Louis C.
Mountain View , California
1 review
Excellent food in a relaxed atmosphere. Creative dishes, well prepared with nice attention paid to presentation. Freshest of seafood and vegatables. Specials are always particularly good. Nice wine list. Service is usually good but can be spotty. Equally comfortable for formal or informal gatherings. Nice Sunday brunch but best bets are dinner fare.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
November 23, 1999
Julie L.
24 reviews
This is my favorite restaurant in Palo Alto. The food is incredibly varied and well-balanced. They have a huge selection of first-courses, large salads for lunch, elegant entrees for dinner. If you're going for the Chinese chicken salad -- branch out and try something new. There's always something different on the menu that expands my culinary horizon.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
November 23, 1999
Julie L.
24 reviews
This is my favorite restaurant in Palo Alto. The food is incredibly varied and well-balanced. They have a huge selection of first-courses, large salads for lunch, elegant entrees for dinner. If you're going for the Chinese chicken salad -- branch out and try something new. There's always something different on the menu that expands my culinary horizon.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0