Val's Burgers

4.0/5.0
26 reviews

2115 Kelly St

Hayward, CA

889-8257

Category: Burgers

Tell others

Recent Reviews for Val's Burgers
May 22, 2008
Daniel M.
Las Vegas , Nevada
200 reviews
Definitely very overrated. The food is overpriced (if I'm paying $8 for a hamburger I don't wnat to have to pay more to get fries with it) and not very good. The milkshakes taste like frosting.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
October 27, 2006
Janett B.
Darien , Illinois
133 reviews
Really enjoyed this place with the family. Great American cuisine. Nice place to relax and enjoy friends and family and good food and good service. Look forward to coming again soon.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
August 8, 2006
Jay M.
Roseville , California
15 reviews
Another reason why Hayward is one of the best eating destinations of the Bay Area. This is an old school burger house straight out of the fifties. The place is small and there is always a wait. Yoou may even have to share a table with another couple, but the burgers and shakes are the best. This place is always voted as the best burger house in the bay. The burgers are labeled as baby, mama and papa and the fries are huge. Try the banana shake!!!
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
March 14, 2006
Kristy W.
San Leandro , California
27 reviews
A real mom and pop type place, they have been around forever. Excellent burgers, and a good place for a family breakfast, but it can be crowded. Not too expensive, but not cheap either.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
December 31, 2005
Anonymous
56940 reviews
I've been going to Val's since 1968... Only the prices have changed- everything else is the same! The burgers are the best, and their steak sandwiches are also the best- so much so, that in 37 years, I haven't bothered to order any other entree! (Why tamper with perfection?) Rumor has it that Val's uses premium Harris Ranch beef, but that >is The milkshakes and malts are as good as the steaks and burgers, and 37 years ago, Val's was the only place that filled the mixing cup, and served it with the milkshake or malt. So you actually get 2-1/2 milkshakes or malts! The fries are steak fries, and an order is sized for 2-1/2 people... But are only average quality. The mushrooms are also good- again- an order is enough for 2 people. My advice: Order either the mama burger or the ranch steak junior sandwich and a malt or milkshake, and maybe an order of fries to split. If >that< doesn't fill you up, you're probably an offensive l ... more
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 1
November 26, 2005
Anonymous
56940 reviews
I went here after seeing it rated so high, and reading reviews, but was quite disappointed. The burgers were bland and flavorless. I could have made a better burger. Easily. The good thing is it was huge and I got ALOT of fries. But this place is Overrated.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
November 2, 2005
Anonymous
56940 reviews
Papa, Mama and Baby burgers. The Papa size always means some to take home. An order of fries is more than enough for 2 people. The shakes are real made with real ice cream and are also generously proportioned. We always get an order of their delicious mushrooms which are large buttons, sauteed, and, of course, plenty. It is a fifties style diner and the best time to go is half hour or so before or after lunch because it gets crowded. The breakfasts are also great. Note: Wheelchair users can't get into the bathroom so plan around it. The staff is very accomodating about seating wheelchair users.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
March 27, 2005
Bobby S.
Fremont , California
24 reviews
Does this place have a slaughter-house in the back? These burgers are fresh and huge! The only problem is the wait because this place is usually packed, but it's worth it.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
April 5, 2004
Fgtyh F.
new york , New York
230 reviews
I have never been disappointed, except on Sundays when they are closed. Excellent!!!!!
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
January 28, 2004
Bill Y.
San Leandro , California
140 reviews , 2 photos
Good burgers....great milkshakes and malts...the rest of the dinner fare is good...this place is an institution and as such it deserves its great reputation..its much better than the fast food alternatives in CV and Hayward...but be prepared to wait. <br> Yeah...I guess the breakfasts are good too..I had forgotten that I have enjoyed breakfast here on more than one occasion...but its really known for the burgers (and steak sandwiches).
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
1 | 2 | 3  Next >