Mel's Drive-in

2.6/5.0
8 reviews

3355 Geary Blvd

San Francisco, CA

387-2244

Category: Drive In

Tell others

Recent Reviews for Mel's Drive-in
May 6, 2006
Thomas S.
San Francisco , California
122 reviews , 2 photos
Over the past few months I've resisted the urge to rate this place, as I'd have zero positive to say. But reviews on many restaurant sites keep rolling in from other victims, so I'll chime in as well. I got talked into coming here late one night as well. My ex-wife was hungry, and she's from Modesto, so the whole American Grafitti, apple pie iconography thing swells her pride, so I got stuck coming to this pseudo-restaurant. That was reason enough to divorce her a a few years later. Really folks, this is very bad food. The bright diner lights at 1:30 am alone, after you've had 7 tequilas at Tommy's is just too much to bear. Discounting that the food may kill you. You'd be far better off by going to the Korean place on Fillmore & Geary that's open until 4:00 am. At least they will not try to poison you. Let's all just start a petition and get Mel's thrown out of SF!
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
May 4, 2005
Nancy S.
San Francisco , California
247 reviews , 1 photo
Mel's is a staple in San Francisco. It's been around for a very long time, and for a quick breakfast, lunch or dinner it fits the bill. It's great to take kids to because no one notices the noise as it's always noisey, and they have a kids menu that the little ones seem to love. It is also actually only one of a handful of restaurants that stays open very late, so if you are hungry after a movie, a play, a prom, you can always go to Mel's! Seems late in the evening it's always packed with high school kids. Food is ok, everything from breakfast foods, burgers, sandwiches, meatload, chicken, etc. Reasonable prices for reasonable food...nothing exceptional, but satisfying all the same.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
April 12, 2004
J D.
El Sobrante , California
44 reviews
How can you go wrong with Mel's? Had sheperd's pie for the first time and boy did I like it. Service was fine, atmosphere was fine, but damn they were out of banana cream pie! Good place, though.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
October 8, 2003
Darcy F.
Turlock , California
25 reviews
Great place for a burger & fries! Mel's is known all around for it's 50's kinda atmosphere & this one lives up to it's name. The people here are pretty nice & the food is good for a good price. A nice place to sit & relax & watch the "city" fly by.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
September 22, 2003
Bob B.
San Francisco , California
26 reviews
Mel's trades on its 50's drive in heritage and its role in the movie American Grafitti. If you are into that fine. Otherwise its a pretty good diner in a town that doesn't really have many good diners. If you go, stick to the burger/fries stuff, as the food quality drops off precipitously as you move away from the grill items.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
April 21, 2003
Gianni F.
san francisco , California
104 reviews
everyone i have been to is the same. boring food boring people. this place is ok if you like ok, i dont.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
July 10, 2000
Serge Y.
San Francisco , California
25 reviews
The place has the style of the 50's and 60's and the food seems to match. Good grasy burgers and fries (and a salad or two for those who are health conscoius) are complememnted by shakes. Once in a while I experienced problems with the speed of service, but that can be explained by the crowds. Parking can be a problem on weekends, so I guess it is not trully a drive-in.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
January 31, 2000
Bernard H.
San Jose , California
205 reviews
u know, i like mel's diners in san francisco so much better than the berkeley location. the berkeley location has a very limited menu. it's great to just get some greasy, fried stuff after a full nite of clubbing or a niners game or something. shakes are great. onion rings, fried calamari, fries... breakfasts... i've seen the lumberjack breakfast but have yet to order that huge dish. buffalo wings were pretty good, if i remember. the smoothies r not much to speak of, so it's best to avoid them. burgers r ok, but i don't love burgers, so a burger's gotta be _really_ good to please me. people seem to like their wet fries. well, it's got nice atmosphere for young people, i think. young people of all ages, right?
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0