Buckeye Roadhouse

3.9/5.0
19 reviews

15 Shoreline Highway

Mill Valley, CA

331-2600

Category: Pasta

Tell others

Recent Reviews for Buckeye Roadhouse
December 5, 2012
ChuckRob
Charleston , South Carolina
6 reviews , 1 photo
I stayed in Mill Valley visiting some family for Thanksgiving. Have too much turkey left me wanting to try something different. I chose the Buckeye due to all the great reviews online. I was so glad I did. The portion was large and the menu choices were so bountiful it made it difficult to choose. I had an applewood chicken entree that was delicious and allowed just the right amount of room for dessert. I chose the sundae with the homemade caramel sauce. Perfectly "burnt" the topping was delicious and didn't overwhelm the ice cream. I will be back next time I visit.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
May 22, 2006
Haute C.
San Francisco , California
68 reviews
We have lunch here several times over the years. You can't go wrong by beginning with oysters bingo. It is cooked on the half shell with plenty of garlic and parmesan cheese. I suggest sole, lamb shank or salmon salad. I've tried the smoked chicken salad, but it doesn't live up my expectations. Al in all, a good dining experience.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
May 12, 2006
John S.
ketchikan , Alaska
32 reviews
I've eaten here 6 times. This is the busiest restaurant in Marin County. 6 miles north of the Golden Gate Bridge. Reservations are mandatory if you expect to get in. Valet parking. The full liquor bar is always crowded with beautiful people. Dining room is fancy. Alpine hunting lodge decor with the best in porcelain, silver, glassware on the tables. This is a meat lovers paradise.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
April 15, 2006
Thomas S.
San Francisco , California
122 reviews , 2 photos
I've eaten here 6 times. This is the busiest restaurant in Marin County. 6 miles north of the Golden Gate Bridge. Reservations are mandatory if you expect to get in. Valet parking. The full liquor bar is always crowded with beautiful people. Dining room is fancy. Alpine hunting lodge decor with the best in porcelain, silver, glassware on the tables. This is a meat lovers paradise. Smoked meats are tender, aromatic, heavenly in your mouth. So leave the vegetarians at home. Side dishes are comfort food of the highest order. I've eaten plenty of Mac n' cheese over the past 53 years, this place makes the best I've ever tasted! Wine list is seriously good and priced accordingly. You are going to spend $60 per person on food plus drinks. You are going to be very full and happy when you are finished. If you want to fit in with the local crowd, dress better than your T-shirt, boardshorts and Adidas. The parking lot is full of late model BMW's & Mercedes. Th ... more
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
July 24, 2005
Anonymous
56940 reviews
We ate there yesterday and thought it was great food and the personal was very good as well. Can't wait to go back.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
April 21, 2004
Hugo C.
Albion , California
27 reviews
One of my all time favorites! Great meats all extremely well prepared in a unique historic roadhouse that has been restored past it's former glory. The outside patio is great when the weather is warm, the smell of the huge brick smoker wafting over the area. Their Monday night Prime Rib special is worth driving a long ways for...the bar is a bit cramped but is one of the most warm, comfy little bars ever. Nice to eat in there too. Reservations are recommended, this charming place is always packed. Be prepared to wait a bit even if you have them. Worth it though. Locals secret...go at midday around 3:30, especially on weekdays...I've rarely ever had to wait.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
September 19, 2003
Bob B.
San Francisco , California
26 reviews
Tough to get into... especially on weekend afternoons when the weather is great in Marin and not so in the city. Food is solid, high end meat and barbeque fare. Bar is cramped, but worth a visit just to take in the 40 year old divorcees on the make. Solid service and solid food balance the high price.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
September 2, 2000
Victoria C.
Coulterville , California
46 reviews
when i visited this restaurant it was great, i don't think that i have ever had any better service from a restaurant. i strongly recoment that evey one stop in and try out this place.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 1
June 7, 2000
David O.
247 reviews
The Buckeye Roadhouse is one of the many Real Restaurant Corp. restaurants (Mustard's Gill, Fog City Diner, Bix and a whole bunch of other places), so they have a standard to live up to. The food here is very good, but the bar scene is right out of a movie. Too many stories here to even try to follow, but the bar does make for some very interesting watching and listening opportunities. Once you reach the dining room, the place really opens up into a hunting lodge-like space. The food here matches the decor, which is to say that it tastes as good good as it looks. While the prices are reasonable, keep and eye on the bottom line, as the bill can add up pretty quickly. Just the same, the Buckeye is worth a visit!
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
May 8, 2000
Deb L.
Sunnyvale , California
118 reviews
I've only eaten in the bar and it can be crowded on a weekend if you go too late in the afternoon. It seems a lot of Marin has found out about this place. Be sure to come hungry as the portions are large. Good BBQ and a nice place to sit and chat, if you go when its not too crowded.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0