Sahari

3.8/5.0
17 reviews

126 E. Fremont Ave.

Sunnyvale, CA

245-1448

Url: www.saharirestaurant.com

Category: Egyptian

Tell others

Recent Reviews for Sahari
January 27, 2010
Hay C.
shtown , Montana
100 reviews
I decided to try out some Egyptian food and I'm pretty glad I did. The food here, though different, was very tasty. The owner is a great and friendly guy as well.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
July 28, 2009
Mike S.
oak park , Illinois
432 reviews
Service is very personal and friendly. Aske about any specials since not everything is on the menu, and at times things on the menu are not always availaable
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
September 20, 2005
Anonymous
56940 reviews
I love this place. The owner, Sam, will bend over backwards to provide you with a wonderful meal. I recommend this restaurant to everyone. <br> The food is tasty, fresh, and consistent. The Hummus is to die for! Um Ali is the most exotic dessert, a unique bread pudding with almonds, coconut, golden raisins, rose water, pistachios. Not available often, but if you get on his preferred list, he will call you when he has it available. Addictive!
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
June 8, 2005
Anonymous
56940 reviews
The food is not really true Egyptian. Egyptian cuisine is actually very greasy and not always flavorful. Sam (the owner) has managed to upgrade the Egyptian and other Middle Eastern dishes to a much higher level. His variations include much more flavor. The portions are always more than I can eat, and I have a big appetite. Service is very personal and friendly. Aske about any specials since not everything is on the menu, and at times things on the menu are not always availaable. <br> A great place to go to have well flavored, fresh food, and a relaxing dinner. The decor is pleasant and not overdone.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 0
March 7, 2004
Bob N.
Sunnyvale , California
1 review
Sam, the owner, is warm and personable, and happy to guide you through the menu. The food is wonderful, with unusual aromas and flavors. There are usually one or two specials that are not on the menu, especially if you arrive early in the evening. <br> I've tried pretty much every item here, and never been disappointed. <br> It's also great for people on a diet. I often order a full dinner, while my wife orders a salad and falafel.. And, as has been noted, there are a number of vegetarian choices.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 1
November 30, 2002
Tim O.
Sunnyvale , California
25 reviews
As others have noted, there is only one waiter so if there are more than a few occupied tables (there are a total of 12 available) service can be slow. The food is good, the decor interesting, the waiter friendly. We had the Falafel Appetizer, Nory Gyros (Rotissserie roast beef & lamb served with yogurt sauce over rice with vegetables), Kero Chickent Shawerma (Griulled chicken breast thinly cut marinated in Middle Eastern herbs and spices served over rice with vegetables), and lemonade -- all quite good. The broccoli and carots were slightly overcooked by Californian standards (where crispy is common) but that's ok -- different cuisine, different style. The waiter is the man with the white shirt and tie featured on the restaurant's web page at http://www.saharirestaurant.com/
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 1
February 8, 2002
Yepbupkis
Anonymous , California
224 reviews
Atmosphere: Average to above average Crowd: Varies Dress: Casual Food: Excellent Noise: Average Service: Average to above average Comments: I went here tonight for dinner. The place was somewhat empty (one family, an individual, and two friends). Though the place is located in a run-down strip mall from the 70's (or 60's) and the actual building is quite distasteful, much Egyptian decor lines the walls and inspires interest. I was seated. I ordered the pita bread ($1.75) as an appetizer. It was VERY good and I ordered the Marry Platter ($8.95 - Garbanzo beans with olive oil and other things and seasoned rice). It was both very different and very good. Though the service was pretty slow, considering the owner was doing everthing himself, it was adequate. I recommend Sahari for excellent Egyptian food at a reasonable price.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 1
August 2, 2001
Anonymous
56940 reviews
This is the worst restaurant I have been to in terms of food. I paid $12 (with tax and tip) for the equivalent of microwaved frozen vegetables on seasoned rice. If you want Eqyptian food, try middle eastern nearby. About the same fare as served at Sahari. The service was courteous. My friend and I were the only ones in the restaurant.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 1
September 18, 2000
Anonymous I.
Santa Clara , California
8 reviews
Food is consistently good and service is courteous, though sometimes slow. The owner/waiter seems to be a bit overworked if there are more than three occupied tables. Been there several times, only minor complaint is that once the waiter spent too much time chatting with some customer who spoke his language, while we were twiddling our thumbs and waiting...
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 1
June 13, 2000
Jm V.
Cupertino , California
4 reviews
In an attempt to experiment with different foods, I ran across Sahari on dine.com and decided to try it out. It was very interesting, my first shot at Egyptian food actually. Please excuse that I can't remember what it's called, I had what they described as a sandwitch on the menu, but really turned out to be more of a burrito. The flavor was very mild, yet filling. Only down side was that when I went (noon), the place was very empty and a few more people chatting and making ambient noise would have been nice.
Thank you for your feedback!
Was this review helpful to you?
Yes 0 No 1